April is National Poetry Month-Things TO do

Poetry is one of those things that elicits strong feelings from people. I see it every day with our students. They either love it or hate it, they love to sit down and write it, or they would rather pull teeth than write a haiku. Here are the things that we are doing in the library and a list of things I want to do next year (always looking ahead):

This Year

Post-it-note Poetry Wall (thx to @gravescolleen for the inspiration)

It’s as simple as gathering paper and some post-it-notes. And as much as I love “magnetic poetry” I don’t have a refrigerator in the library, this is the next best thing.

Poetry Book Display

It’s the best way to get those poetry books moving off the shelf. Put them front and center!

Blackout Poetry with Makey Makey from @gravescolleen

If you haven’t seen this post by Colleen Graves, you will LOVE it! It’s one of my favorite innovative things she has done this year. And it might be because Makey Makey is my favorite maker tool.

Resource-Interactive #blackoutpoetry with Makey Makey and Scratch

Next Year

Teen Poetry Slam during School

Great post from School Library Journal about a Teen Poetry Slam at a Public Library that could be adapted for use at any School Library

Poetry with a Typewriter (Passive programming)

One of my favorite things that my own children participated was a pop-up by Spiderweb Salon where poems were sold for a $1 at a garage sale of all places. The arts in the ordinary. My children brought home these little poems typed by a local poet based on words that they chose on the spot. Genius.

Here’s an local article about a street poet who whips up poetry in the Bishop’s Art District her in Dallas.

FeaturingĀ Fatima-Ayan Malika Hirsi and her vintage typewriter.

http://www.dallasnews.com/news/news/2016/04/19/this-dallas-street-poet-will-shake-you-in-your-boots-with-crazy-good-poems-in-under-10-minutes

 

And if you are like me, new ideas keep me going, hop on twitter and check out the hashtag #nationalpoetrymonth

And a freebie for you guys. Our version of the April is National Poetry Month Poster 24 x 36. I heart Posters.

Link to Google Drive File in PDF format.

